reading week 9

Information is the key to success some would say. This had been known for as long as man has been around. With the use of the internet, information is now more accessible than ever. Universal access to the internet allows for the general public an easier than ever means to information. With that information can come economic, political and cultural freedom. Look at Myspace for example, somebody who maybe talked to one or two friends daily now has 5,000 friends to talk to daily. When considering economic growth, the internet had created countless economic opportunities for entrepreneurs who in turn create more jobs for the general public. Special interest groups have also used the internet as a useful tool to lobby, beef up their memberships and create strategic communications throughout the political community. All these successes are created via the internet. Its outstanding ability to spread information has created opportunities that were unimaginable several decades ago.

qeustions:

1.If the internet had never been created would the new culture of today be differant than the pre internet days?

2. consideraing the capabilites of the internet 10 years ago to its capabilty today, will universal access rapid change the internet as it did in the past?

3. Is universal access achievable now, and if so why are their strict rules hindering our capabilites to do so?

4 Responses to “reading week 9”

  1. ~Arielle~ Says:

    Hey Nick can you do me a favor. what is your email? My email is kaw23@cc.wwu.edu

  2. I started to have a fascination on the internet around 12 years ago. I was just hearing about it on TV that the internet is a tool to get information in a quickly manner and also conduct chat sessions with people from all over the world. I never had imagined that I myself would become part of the internet phenomena. I was hooked on chat rooms and making webpages when I was 14! This was my way to interact with people that I had gotten along with but were so far from where I live. Of course, there has always been a fear of meeting them personally. Also, my way of shopping has changed overtime with me buying more stuff online than in a normal “offline” store. In fact I hav saved a lot of money by purchasing stuff online. The internet has helped me so much and I can’t wait to see it grow even bigger and better

  3. It’s mindblowing that just a few years ago Internet seemed to be only available to residential consumers through the phone line…now the phone line technology is so antiquated…and in a minute cable and DSL are going to be the old and slow technology. I think that very soon we’ll be seeing how much faster it will get…I can’t wait til the speed is faster than a blink of the eye

Leave a comment