group project

through out my search for news organizations websites I found huge amount of resources to choose from. I picked one news organization that I had heard of and one news organization that I had not heard of. This way I could compare and contrast a popular organization to maybe a less favorable one.

the first news organization I chose was the BBC online news website. I first encountered a browser option with categories with news from each continent, then you would click on that option and there would be only a few major news stories, nothing to in depth though. Then on the other side of the page it seemed that there was more effort put into the sports, radio, tv, world news and weather tabs, each individual box was accompanied by a photo and r.s.s. option. I clicked on the r.s.s. tabs and it gave me very up to date(with in 5 min) freshly posted news stories. Overall I was not too impressed with the bbc news site. For being such a mainstream new organization I would expect more effort.

the next website that i explored was www.wn.com. this website even though not the for-runners, for news as far as i knew, did have a lot ore options to choose from. It did not have any rss options that were visible. It had a handy little stock price tracker that I though was a neat addition. It even offered a place for the public to upload pictures and video onto the website. it was offered in twenty different languages and gave the top stories from all over the world. Overall this website was far better than the other. It obviously was more maintained and manicured than other news organizations websites.

Leave a comment